Day 38: The Price of Ivory

The Price of Ivory

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to be ok within a world where killing elephants in order to receive money for their tusks/ivory has for some become a habit, a natural part of one’s daily routine.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not realize that to purchase items for sale made of ivory is the same as killing an elephant by my own hands because in supporting the selling/buying of ivory means more elephants will be brutally killed so that money can be made through the selling of their tusks which are brutally cut in the kill.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to exist within a system of ivory consumption, where ivory is treated as a valuable object over the actually physical life of an elephant.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to participate within a world where killing elephants is currently equal to that of a gold rush.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed ivory as a precious material able to be sold for profit such as in Asia.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed a world where people live in areas where they are poor and have nothing and thus are subject to the temptations and demands made by those who offer money for the killing of elephants for their tusks so that they may profit within the corrupt world/money system we have created here on earth.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not realize that many elephants are killed because people have no jobs and thus no money to care for themselves.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not realize that elephant dung contains food for other animals and that an elephant eats Sapeli seeds in Kabo and deposits its dung in Ikalemba, Epena, Gabon and the Central African Republic, and out of that will grow the Sapeli trees of the future. Thus, we have failed to understand that to exterminate the elephants means there will be no one to regenerate the forests.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not realize that there are not that many elephants left in our world and that a female elephant only gets pregnant about every six years and that it takes 22 months for elephants to produce a single offspring, and that if we keep killing elephants as we’ve been doing, there will be none here for future generations.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed the killing of any animal for the sake of profit.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to exist within a corrupt world/money system that fails to see the beauty and majesty of the creatures that walk upon our earth due to greed where profit/money is worth more than the life of living breathing beings.


I commit myself to the support and education of a system that recognizes and understands that to eliminate any species of beings for the reason of profit is to actually be eliminating the ability for all life to survive in areas of our earth.

I commit myself to a system of Equality because then I know that all living beings will be seen and will receive the utmost care and responsibility within an understanding that all life is here for the purpose and unity of realizing our oneness of each other.

One thought on “Day 38: The Price of Ivory

  1. Pingback: Day 47: The Horror of Me « Arvydas's Journey To Life

Comments are closed.